noscript image
GooglePlay Logo AppStore Logo

Controversy with VAR! Djené touches the ball and Gil Manzano gives a penalty

BeSoccer by BeSoccer @besoccer_com - 0 2,641

Pin VAR was involved once again. Screenshot/MovistarLaLiga
VAR was involved once again. Screenshot/MovistarLaLiga

Controversy with VAR! Djené touches the ball and Gil Manzano gives a penalty

BeSoccer by BeSoccer @besoccer_com - 0 2,641

The end of the first half between Getafe and Granada was full of controversy. Gil Manzano, with the verification from Medié Jiménez on VAR, blew for a penalty in a passage of play in which Djené touched the ball and then Yangel Herrera.

VAR made its presence known again in a controversial passage of play. On the brink of half-time, Gil Manzano blew for a penalty after a challenge from Djené on Yangel Herrera inside the box.

Djené, in the play, touched the ball and then Yangel Herrera. It was this latter action that the referee blew for, who waited for the verification from VAR to give validity to the penalty.

The Getafe CB, calm, explained to Gil Manzano that he touched the ball, a passage of play that seen in the replay was clear. But Medié Jiménez didn't rectify the decision given by the referee.

Looking incredulous, the Getafe players saw how Ángel Montoro did not waste the gift and made it 0-1 just before the break.

BeSoccer

BeSoccer

NEWS 104K RANK 1
READS 162M RANK 1
More news author

Follow BeSoccer on Facebook