Trippier misses penalty in 2nd minute... and controversy breaks out!

BeSoccer 5 years ago 2.4k
Trippier missed. Screenshot/Movistar

Atlético Madrid player, Kieran Trippier, missed a penalty at the start of the match. However, the controversy was after they missed the penalty, as the Lokomotiv keeper moved off his line when the penalty was taken.

Atlético had to beat Lokomotiv to guarantee their presence in the last 16 of the Champions League and it couldn't start any better.

In the first minute of the match, Joao Félix won a penalty much to the delight of the Wanda.

As soon as the penalty was given, Kieran Trippier decided to take responsibility as he had been the best Atlético player taking penalties in training during the week. 

He took the ball and stepped up, but Kochenkov and the post managed to keep the ball out.

The Russian outfit's goalkeeper wasn't on his line when Trippier hit the ball, something which according to the rules should have been a retake.

 

Mentioned in the news story

Atlético
Lokomotiv Moskva
K. Trippier