noscript image
GooglePlay Logo AppStore Logo App Huawei

Why was Pique also given a red after conceding penalty?

BeSoccer by BeSoccer @besoccer_com - 0 2,592

Pin Pique was not trying to play the ball. Screenshot/MovistarLigadeCampeones
Pique was not trying to play the ball. Screenshot/MovistarLigadeCampeones

Why was Pique also given a red after conceding penalty?

BeSoccer by BeSoccer @besoccer_com - 0 2,592

Normally, denial of obviously goalscoring opportunities inside the box are normally just a penalty and a yellow, but Pique saw a penalty and a red. We can explain why the defender was rightly sent off.

Gerard Pique saw a red card and a penalty given against him in Barcelona's Champions League opener with Ferencvaros. The central defender clearly pulled back Nguen and the striker went down to the floor. Referee Sandro Scharer gave him a penalty and a red card. 

The incident surprised many people as they thought you can not see a red card and a concede a penalty in the same incident. However, when the IFAB got rid of the triple punishment back in 2016 for incidents in the box, that was only when a player was trying to play the ball such as a foul with your foot. When you make no attempt to play the ball such as a shirt pull, the penalty and red card still applies. 

It was a severe punishment for the defender who left Barcelona with 10 men and he will miss the match in Turin against Juventus. 

 

BeSoccer

BeSoccer

NEWS 107K RANK 1
READS 166M RANK 1
More news author

Follow BeSoccer on Facebook