What constitutes a handball and what does not has once again been questioned. This time in the Nations League final between Spain and France. Just after the half hour mark, a cross from Rodri struck Kounde on the arm and it was not 100% by his side.
Referee Anthony Taylor claimed his arm was in a natural position for his body movement and so it was not a penalty. With a different referee, the spot kick could easily have been given and that has led to controversy.
In any case, the English official said on this occasion that as Kounde was turning to block the cross and he was not looking at the ball, it was not a spot kick. The Spain players were far from happy with the decision.
VAR Stuart Attwell reviewed the incident for a few moments before agreeing with Anthony Taylor. Both teams got the feeling the referee was being lenient as he could have easily shown a few yellow cards in the first half as well.
Standout matches today