Real Madrid vehemently appealed for a spot kick in the 95th minute after an alleged handball by Unai Nunez. It came one minute before the end of the match and Athletic Bilbao were leading 1-2.
The move began with a cross from the left hand side by Nacho. Nunez dived to clear the ball with Mariano in the vicinity. The ball struck him between the shoulder and the upper arm, an area which is legal this season.
Asensio was the player who appealed most for the spot kick. After a second move which saw Ramos try and score with his heel, the game was halted to see whether there was a penalty.
The VAR, Ignacio Iglesias Villanueva, checked the incident involved Nunez and Mariano, but finally told referee Juan Martinez Munuera that there was no handball.
It took Iglesias Villanueva a couple of minutes to check the handball and TV replays were showing replays of Ramos trying to score. That caused confusion amongst viewers.
"In that move, there's a handball because the ball comes to me, I don't if it comes after a ricochet. I have to see it," Asensio told 'Vamos' just after the end of the match.
Standout matches today