noscript image

Manchester City, Premier League champions 2017/18

Pin City have swashbuckled their way to the title. AFP
City have swashbuckled their way to the title. AFP

Manchester City, Premier League champions 2017/18

BeSoccer by BeSoccer @besoccer_com - 3 +12k

Manchester City have been named Premier League champions after West Bromwich Albion stunned Manchester United to win 1-0 at Old Trafford on Sunday.

City's 3-1 win over Spurs on Saturday left them one victory away from a title, though a United defeat would hand their arch-rivals the title.

After raining on City's title parade at the Etihad last week with a stunning comeback victory, United were unable to maintain the pressure on their noisy neighbours this time as a solitary Jay Rodriguez goal handed West Brom the victory and City the title. 

City secure the title with five games of the Premier League season to go, with the 'Citizens' currently holding a 16-point lead over Uinited in second.

Pep Guardiola's side have lost just twice this season, claiming 87 points from 33 games courtesy of 28 wins, three draws and two losses.

Some scintillating attacking play has seen City find the net 93 times in the league, whilst their rearguard has only been breached on 25 occasions, giving them a goal difference of +68, a tally no other side comes within 25 goals of.

Such has been their domination that City could yet to break various Premier League records by the end of the season, with the 100-point mark within their sights.

Guardiola failed to win a trophy during his first season at the helm, but has claimed a domestic double this term, adding the Premier League to the EFL Cup title collected against Arsenal in February.

It marks City's fifth English top-flight triumph, with their last Premier League title win having come back in 2013-14.



news 62K RANK 1
More news author

Follow BeSoccer on Facebook