noscript image

Ballon d'Or awards ceremony 2018 in full

Pin Messi did not make the top three for the first time since 2006. FranceFootball
Messi did not make the top three for the first time since 2006. FranceFootball

Ballon d'Or awards ceremony 2018 in full

Modric, Ronaldo, Griezmann or Messi - who will win the 2018 Ballon d'Or?

1st: Luka Modric - Modric is the best in the world!

Modrić won the Champions League with Real Madrid for the fourth time in his career, was the best player for Croatia as he captained them to the World Cup final for the first time ever, won UEFA's Midfielder of the Season, the World Cup Golden Ball and The Best FIFA Men's Player award - very well deserved winner. 

2nd: Cristiano Ronaldo

Real Madrid won the Champions League with the the Portuguese finishing as the top scorer of the tournament with 15 goals, however he has not won a sixth Ballon d'Or award. 

Ronaldo played a decisive part in getting the better of other top guns from Europe, including a spectacular overhead kick in Turin against his current employers.

3rd: Antoine Griezmann

Griezmann won the World Cup with France, finishing as the man of the match in the final and he also finish as the Europa League's best player with a brace in the final of that too.

4th: Kylian Mbappé: 

The 19-year-old has already won the Kopa Award this evening and you can't win everything. If he continues to progress at the rate that he is, he may very well see himself win this award in the next couple of years. What a player!

Not long to go now!

It's going to be either Ronaldo, Griezmann, Modric or Mbappe. 

Ada Hegerberg wins the first women's Ballon d'Or!

The Lyon striker is the best in the world!


5th: Leo Messi

Nobody scored as many goals as Leo Messi in 2018, however he will not win his sixth Ballon d'Or award this evening. 


6th: Mo Sala

The 'Egyptian King' guided his Liverpool side to the Champions League final and Egypt to the World Cup!



7th: Raphaël Varane

The highest finish for a defender, Varane​ won the Champions League with Real Madrid and the World Cup with France, not bad. 

8th: Eden Hazard

Hazard had an impressive World Cup with Belgium and has been rumoured with a transfer to Real Madrid ever since. 

9th: Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)

KDB is the 9th best player in the world. The Manchester City playmaker comes in at 9.

10th: Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)

Harry Kane has been voted as the 10th best player in the World. The England captain inspired his nation to the World Cup semi-finals, picking up the Golden Boot for his hard work. 



Mbappé wins Kopa Trophy!

Kylian Mbappé has won the newly created Kopa Trophy. The Kopa Trophy is an association football award presented to the best performing player under the age of 21

The ceremony has begun!

The 63rd Ballon d'Or ceremony has begun in Paris! Who do you think will win the 2018 Ballon d'Or?

A very extravagant dance performance opens the evening with football royalty waiting patiently to find out who 'France Football' awards the Ballon d'Or to. 

Kante 11th best in the World!

11th: Kanté (Chelsea)

Chelsea and France's N'Golo Kanté comes in at 11th. The 27-year-old played an instrumental part in Les Bleus' triumph in Russia. 

12th: Neymar (PSG)

Neymar, who PSG signed for £200m in 2017, finishes in 17th place.

A disappointing year for the Brazilian. It's the first time since 2012 that he’s ranked outside the top 10.

13th: Luis Suarez (Barcelona)

Up next is the Uruguayan forward who helped Barcelona to win the league and SuperCup in 2018.

Suarez scored 25 LaLiga goals as his side dominated domestically in Spain. 

Best goalkeeper: Thibaut Courtois

So, the Real Madrid goalkeeper has beaten Alisson, Oblak and Lloris and is the best goalkeeper in the world according to 'France Football'.

14th: Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid & Chelsea)

Courtois, who left Chelsea to join Real Madrid in the summer, has been voted the best goalkeeper in the world. He picks up another individual award, having already winning FIFA's The Best Goalkeeper award in September. 

A grand setting

Welcome to the Grand Palais in Paris which is ready to host the 63rd Ballon d'Or ceremony!

Ballon d'Or winners leaked on Twitter!

Now here's a twist, a photo has gone viral online of an apparent leak of the winners over Snapchat. All of the 'leaked' names so far have been correct.

15th: Paul Pogba (Manchester United)

Manchester United and France's Paul Pogba comes in 15th place. The 25-year-old played in six of France's World Cup games in Russia, inspiring 'Les Bleus' to victory over Croatia.

16th: Sergio Aguero (Manchester City)

City's all-time top goal scorer comes in at 16th after a brilliant season under Pep Guardiola. The Argentine was a threat throughout and scored 21 goals last season.

17th: Bale (Real Madrid and Benzema (Real Madrid)

A duo of Real Madrid players: Gareth Bale and Karim Benzema share 17th place for the 2018 Ballon d'Or.

Despite missing out on a World Cup winner's medal with France at the World Cup, Benzema has had an impressive 2018 scoring 13 goals in all competitions. 

Who could forget Bale's sublime overhead kick in the Champions League final as his Real Madrid side beat Liverpool 3-1 in Kiev!

Ramos (Real Madrid) is the 19th!

Ramos, who captained Real Madrid to another Champions League success, comes in at 19.

19th: Firmino, Rakitic and Ramos! 

Up next we have Firmino (Liverpool), Rakitic (Barcelona) and Ramos (Real Madrid).

In 22nd place we have PSG forward Edinson Cavani: 

22nd: Cavani (PSG), Mane (Liverpool) and Marcelo (Real Madrid)

25th: Alisson (Liverpool), Mandzukic (Juventus), Oblak (Atletico Madrid) 

28th: Godin (Atletico Madrid) 

29th: Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur) and Isco (Real Madrid) 

Hello and welcome!

French publication 'France Football' are set to announce the order of the 20 Ballon d'Or nominees!

Good evening and a warm welcome to all joining us for today's live coverage of the Ballon d'Or ceremony live from Paris. Luka Modric is the bookie's favourite to end Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo's decade-long dominance of this award. The last person who was not either Ronaldo or Messi to win this award was Kaka back in 2007 when he was playing for AC Milan. This is set to be historic award! 

Elliot Turnbull

Elliot Turnbull

news 135 RANK 20
More news author

Follow BeSoccer on Facebook